Breaking Up with Paris

I have a few announcements to make, and I figure here and now is as good a time and place for it as any.

I am leaving Paris.

It may be obvious to some that Paris and I have not exactly hit it off. It’s not that I don’t like Paris; I just don’t like living in Paris. I have learned so much from the food here (I have ranked all the patisseries in my neighborhood), and I have learned so much about myself, from Paris and from Moise. For all of this I am and will remain extremely grateful.

That is very important to me, so I will reiterate: I am not mad at Paris. I do not regret coming here. I am not giving up travel.

But why, Claire? You’re just not putting the effort in!

That may be so, but I don’t think it wise to invest as much energy as it would require into a place that offers so very few returns to me. Paris is great, and it’s beautiful, and the food is amazing. But sometimes places and people don’t match up.

It’s like when you meet someone, and you like them well enough, but you don’t want to spend all your time with them and be besties forever. Moving to a new city is like saying, “I WANT TO BE BESTIES WITH YOU!” But if it doesn’t fit, there’s really nothing you can do about it. No one likes forced friendships.

Leave a Reply

