Ode to Baking

There are times in anyone’s life when things change. And you can see that change coming like a train in the distance, unmercifully chugging along. I’m the girl tied to the tracks.

That’s an unfair exaggeration. But I face the prospect of graduating university in May, for which I am all kinds of emotions, and although the current way-below-freezing temperatures try to convince me otherwise, I am agonizingly aware that May is not that far away.

To be honest, I’m extremely excited about life after graduation. I have more secure plans than most of my peers, and I’ll actually be doing what I love and utilizing my seemingly useless major (Creative Writing). But it’s a massive change staring me straight in the face. I mean, COLOSSAL. Especially in a culture in which we spend our entire childhood, adolescence, and into our twenties in school, finally leaving is a huge change.

Whether the change is for the better or worse, whether I’m excited or terrified, I always respond the same way at a certain point: ultimate stress mode. This is the mode in which I question everything, including my major, my social life, that time five years ago when I drank too much, my past, my future, my present, the list goes on and on and on and on….

But there are some things I will never be able to question. Baking soda in flour and sugar and milk and egg makes muffins. Egg whites with sugar can be coaxed into frothy sticky goodness. A pie is a pie is a pie. Bread dough won’t punch back. Cookies make people smile.

These are the rules of the universe in which I live. This is the chemistry that lets me find comfort in a good steel mixing bowl. Not just comfort but peace of mind, sense of purpose, and calm. Whether or not I know what will happen in four months, I know exactly what will happen in twenty-two minutes, and it will be warm and delicious and perfect with a cup of tea.

IMG_3924

6 thoughts on “Ode to Baking

  1. I’m so excited to hear about your life after graduation, because I’m certain it will be great! Be sure to come back to OWU sometime next year, and we can make some muffins together or something.
    Sarah :)

Leave a Reply

