Bake #6: Banana Bread Yum-ness

I have had the craziest week. My planner looks like a big, multicolored, scratched-out-list tornado. So basically, banana bread is exactly what I needed. Also my yummy organic bananas were starting to look like yellow dalmatians, so it worked out well.

Remember when I mentioned my awesome new job as a student journalist writing about food speakers? Well, last week a fantastic guy called Bryant Terry came to grace us with his awesome presence. Chef/food activist/author told us about his journey into foodie-ism (my word) and talked about the plentiful benefits of local and organically grown food. I love good food. And I love healthy food (usually). And I love making the world a better place. So this was heaven for me. One of the most important things he said, though, is that we need to have a complex and nuanced relationship with food as individuals. Vegetarianism is great. Veganism is great. Raw-foodism is great. But you’re missing out on all the incredible things that can be done with food to make life colorful and wonderful and delicious. Nuance. Food is all about making life full and energized. Basically, I fell in love with this man and his kitchen and life philosophies.

Then I went to the grocery store. I don’t recommend going grocery shopping after a lecture on organic food. My enthusiasm for the produce section was boundless. And my receipt showed it.

So you better believe I was not about to let those beautiful organic bananas go to waste!

I used a wonderfully simple recipe from Simply Recipes, a great resource that I use when I want a not-too-complicated recipe with ingredients I probably already have. So basically, the best kinds of recipes. I made a couple of changes, of course. Had to make it mine.

Ingredients:

  • 3 mashed bananas
  • 1/3 c butter melted
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1 tspn vanilla
  • 1 tspn baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 c all-purpose flour

First, obviously, mash your bananas and melt the butter. And then mix them together in a big bowl. Yum.

Mix in the sugar, the egg, and the vanilla. I didn’t beat my egg first and it didn’t seem to make too much difference. Then sprinkle the salt and baking soda on top and mix that in.

Here is where I decided to add some nutmeg. I love nutmeg. It’s such an aromatic flavor and in small amounts adds a whole new depth to the other flavors it’s working with. All estimation. As much as you like, though not too much or it will overwhelm everything else.

Then add the flour. Here the challenge is to not get it all over yourself as you stir. Taste the batter (a very important step in every baking endeavor). I added more nutmeg.

Pour it all into a buttered/greased 4×8 inch loaf pan.

Bake for 1 hour in a 350°F oven. I forgot to set the timer and just kept checking on it, testing the middle for gooeyness with a fork.

Let cool, call a friend, slice with flourish, and prepare for the yum.

By the way, you can read my articles here!

 

2 thoughts on “Bake #6: Banana Bread Yum-ness

Leave a Reply

