Bake#5: Stuffed French Toast

Here in Ohio, the temperatures are dropping, sweaters are being pulled out of boxes, and the sky is in a constant argument with itself over whether it should be rainy or sunny. This could not possibly mean anything but Fall. My favorite season of the year.

Fall is the best for several reasons. The one my sister and I always agree on is the clothes. Fall is the best season for clothes, in our opinion. More importantly for you and I, Fall has some of the best, most interesting flavors of the year.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll do backflips for a seasonal fresh fruit pie with fresh whipped cream. But after four months of that, I begin to look forward to rich, creamy pumpkin pies, and warm spicy apple cider more than anything in the world.

It’s a bit early for pumpkins, and I’m a bit strapped for cash at the mo’, so for now I’m trying to use what I already have in my pantry, a good skill to encourage if you’re like me and have a pretty well stocked pantry. Also, this would be a super expensive hobby if I didn’t try to do this.

Given this, and the fact that I adore breakfast, this morning I made a luxurious fall-inspired breakfast to bring in my Sunday. Stuffed French Toast. Yum.

  • You’ll need:
  • two slices of yummy bread (I always like whole wheat)
  • an egg
  • some milk
  • some butter for the skillet
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • cream cheese
  • honey

First, in a little bowl or cup, mix a couple spoonfuls of cream cheese with a few dashes of cinnamon and plenty of nutmeg and a healthy drizzle of honey. Taste it for fun and to see if you want more of anything. The nutmeg is the main flavor here, so don’t be shy with it.

Then, in another bowl, whisk together the egg and the milk and more cinnamon. Don’t worry about adding air, here, so a fork is fine. Melt some butter in the skillet on medium heat and when it’s foaming, dip your bread in the egg mixture until it’s covered all over in slimy eggy goodness and plop it in the pan. Don’t over cook the bread, here. You want it a little golden, but not as golden as you’d normally like french toast to be. You’ll see why. Flip them and cook the other side just the same.

Here’s the exciting part. When they’re done, put the slices on a plate.

Spread your yummy cream cheese on one piece. You may not want to use all of it. It’s your call. I’d say the more the merrier.

Here you could add some slices of banana, or fresh fig, or marmalade. Whatever you like. I added another dash of cinnamon because, hey, I like cinnamon.

Smoosh it all together like a pb&j sandwich…

And then throw it back in the skillet. More butter might be wise. This, by the way, is why you didn’t want to cook it all the way before. This step melts the cream cheese some more and reheats the bread since it might have cooled or gotten a bit soggy. If you like your french toast crispy like me, turn up the heat a bit, just for a second or two, and make sure you don’t burn it.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Bake#5: Stuffed French Toast

Leave a Reply

