Bake#3: Clove-y Baked Rhubarb

Rhubarb is a funny little fruit. First of all, I’m not entirely sure it is a fruit. But people usually load it with sugar and pair it with strawberries, so I guess that makes it a fruit. Generally speaking, that’s not really my style. If I bake with fruit (which I do quite often) my goal is to get to know the fruit itself. If I wanted to load up on yummy sugars, I’d just make a Toaster Struedel. When I made blueberry pie, the inside really was just blueberries, and maybe a dash of sugar and a pinch of spices to liven it up. But it was all about the blueberries. This week’s dessert is very much the same. Baked Rhubarb.

Yes, it is as simple as it sounds. I cut up a few stalks of rhubarb, tossed it with sugar and spices, and baked it in a gratin. I’ve never really baked with rhubarb before, except one stumble-y attempt at tiny rhubarb galettes. So I wanted to try again, and baked rhubarb seemed like the simplest way to do that.

I had to fudge up some of the directions. One of my stalks of rhubarb had gone moldy, so I was short a cup and had to use less of everything else. Not sure I did that so well, but it’s still delicious. Splashed in a bit too much orange juice. And the recipe called for 3 whole cloves and 2 inches of vanilla bean, but I was using ground cloves and vanilla extract. So I estimated, but I am pretty sure I underestimated the power of cloves.

All in all, a very delicious, if very clove-y, dessert, and the perfect way to ring in the autumnal season (my favorite!). I’ve been enjoying it with yogurt, and added a handful of uncooked oatmeal for breakfast. Yum!

2 thoughts on “Bake#3: Clove-y Baked Rhubarb

  1. I have been dying to use Rhubarb in a recipe but can’t find it anywhere!!! The supermarkets around here don’t seem to have it :-(

Leave a Reply

