Bake#2: The Pancake Non-Bake

If I didn’t just have the most exhausting week of school ever, I don’t know what happened. I’ve re-discovered the practice of nap-taking, learned about the Anglo-Saxon invasion of Romano-Celtic Britain, and watched the entire first season of “Doctor Who.” But seriously. I’ve been completely swamped and more exhausted than I think I’ve ever been. That said, this is exactly the challenge I signed up for. So here is a post, but unfortunately I didn’t bake this week. I did make a batch of pancakes, though.

Banana on Pancake

The humble pancake. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I never was a pancake girl. I’m a waffle fan, proud and true. But when I got this apartment, I unfortunately didn’t have my own waffle-maker to fill it out. Still don’t. Instead, I learned to make and like pancakes. It’s a work in progress. I still end up with a few gooey-in-the-middle ones. Then I put the rest in the fridge and eat them like Eggos for the rest of the week. Yum!

I had some buttermilk in the fridge that I hadn’t found a use for, and the only recipe I found that sounded good was a pancake recipe. It also happened to call for wheat germ, which I had and was dying to use because I’ve never cooked with wheat germ before. And it called for whole wheat pastry flour (my favorite) which I also already had, so it seemed like fate. And I’ll be damned if those weren’t the best pancakes I ever had. Not that I’ve had that many, but they were perfect to me. Egg-y and wheat-y and fluffy and steamy! Just the kind of thing that went perfectly with eggs and bacon, but took butter and honey just as easily.

Maybe it’s just because I’m biased, but I like my pancakes the way I like my waffles. Crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside, not too sweet but not too bread-y. I like them with honey and butter best, or as an egg-and-bacon-waffle/pancake sandwich. The key, though, is a flexible flavor profile.

This weekend I got breakfast with my dad. There’s a restaurant down the street from his house that we love. The food is always amazing, and totally up our alley. For example, Dad had a plate of Prosciutto and Poached Eggs on Ciabatta toast. Last time we went, I got what’s called a Beechwold Salad: mixxed greens with chicken, avocado, beans, almonds, dates, onions, and chevre. Sooooo good. Anyway, this weekend I decided to get the pancakes. Their pancakes are ricotta pancakes, which I’d never had before. The plate arrived with three. Two ended up in a box. They were big. And filling. And moist on the inside, not crunchy on the outside, and just a bit sweet. You see where I’m going with this. These were not my kind of pancakes. Don’t get me wrong, they were delicious. I had one for lunch today. But that’s what the ricotta does. It makes them moist moist moist, and usually sweeter. They were still incredible, absolutely up to par with everything else I’ve had there, but it was interesting for me to try someone else’s recipe on something I have my own recipe. It added a new perspective on pancakes, and was a tasty reminder that even something as simple as a pancake can be diverse and complex.

What do you think? Pancakes or waffles? Sweet or not?

Leave a Reply

