Project#3: The Great Self-Inspired Bake-Off

So sorry for the long silence. After working on The Genesis Project for so long, I was at a loss of what to write about next. I had a few ideas chasing each other in my head, and I may come back to some of them sooner or later. But this one is the winner.

I may have mentioned before that I like to bake. That’s kind of a misstatement. People who like to bake usually make brownies from boxes and rice krispie treats and such. I do like to do those things sometimes, but mostly out of nostalgia, and also because Betty Crocker makes the best damn brownies to bless our mortal lives.

Cupcakes I once made for a friend’s birthday. Box-mix, but I flavored the frosting with jello powder.

But me? I don’t just like to bake. I love to bake. I’m known in many circles for my aromatic Cherry-Frangipane Tart, which fills the kitchen with the intoxicating smell of Frangelico. I have perfected the making of scones to the point that when my family goes to artisanal bakeries for scones and coffee, one bite in, they consider a moment, and say, “Claire’s are better.” I play in my head with different flavor combinations I’d like to try someday. In other words, this is the hobby I always come back to with gusto, while others fall by the wayside for sometimes years on end.

The problem is, I live alone. And I don’t know if any of you have tried to eat an entire batch of fresh biscuits by yourself, but it’s not easy. I tried last night. They’re just not the same the next day. Also, fruit is expensive, and my favorite kind of baking involves fruit. And not to mention that students don’t have a lot of time to spend in front of an oven.

This year, though, I’d like to try to keep baking a regular and delicious part of my life. My classes start a week from today, and not only am I beyond excited to start my classes, I’m excited that I will have friends around ready and willing to eat my food! And so I will grab this opportunity with both oven mitts and turn it into  the Third Grand Wander of the Great C-Bear!

PROJECT#3: The Great Self-Inspired Bake-Off

THE COMPETITORS: Myself. Every week, for two months, I will bake something I’ve never made before. Some new fruit or ingredient, or maybe a new type of dessert. I will try to expand my culinary horizons even further, and share my discoveries and failures with you. Be prepared for some crazy delicious stuff.

AND SHE’S OFF!

Leave a Reply

