Tangent: Perks Of Being A Wallflower

I read a lot. Every summer is usually me staking permanent residence at a table in my favorite coffee shop with a new book every three days. Some of them are really enjoyable, some of them are challenging classics, and a very few of them really truly speak to me, catch my soul like the first rainbow you’ve ever seen. I startedPerks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky at 11:30 last night, finished it this afternoon, and am planning of turning back to the beginning as soon as I post this. It’s been a very very long time since a book struck me the way this book has. I know it’s affected so much of my generation, and it’s clear why, and I’m glad to be one of those people. Sometimes there are books or movies that come across my path at exactly the right moment in my life. This was one of those books. I am absolutely speechless.

I admit that I initially picked it up because I wanted to read it before the movie came out, because I’ve been meaning to read it for years after hearing about it once a long time ago. But it’s not about the movie anymore. It’s a wonderful story that is fantastically told and speaks volumes in a small bound set of letters. I hope I write something that beautiful someday.

If Perks changed your life, I’d love to hear your story.

3 thoughts on “Tangent: Perks Of Being A Wallflower

  1. I have reread this book countless times. Sing me to Sleep by The Smiths is the first song on my “sleepy time” mix and I still describe moments as infinite. The book is fantastic.

  2. I WAS Charlie as a awkward,socially inept, strange music listening sophomore. Sam was a girl named Sarah. The book so beautifully encapsulated that feeling of sheer joy and utter terror felt at the exact same time without feeling like a bi-polar wreck that it so envelops our 16 year old selfs, that it made me realize that you are not alone in feeling these things.

    I was always curious about how my favorite actors, musicians, etc. were in high school just so that I could get a valid reason for feeling the way I did all the time. This book gave me that and made me suddenly understand that while I may be weird, life only gets weirder. And the weirdest of them all shall inherit the earth.

Leave a Reply

